• Melissa Imari Alvarez

Black Costume Designers, Stylists, and Other Clothing Artists You Need to be Following on Instagram

Updated: Jun 19

One thing we believe in wholeheartedly here at An Invincible Design is the power of storytelling through clothing. There is so much to be said about what we wear and what we've worn throughout history. There is more to fashion beyond materialism.


The purpose of this list is simple, but hopefully helpful and inspiring: to highlight some of the Black storytellers who are masters of clothing. I am creating this list solely based on the accounts I am already following at the time of writing this. But please share any others you'd like to see on this list, and we will update accordingly! You can share your recommendations in the comments below, via the "Contact" link above, or by emailing aninvincibledesign@gmail.com.


Happy reading!



Costume Designers


Ruth E. Carter (@therealruthecarter)- Costume Designer and 2019 Oscar Winner for Black Panther; also known for Malcolm X, Do the Right Thing, Selma, and Amistad


Paul Tazewell (@paultazewell)- Costume Designer for stage and film and 2016 Tony Award winner for his work on Hamilton; also known for Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert, and the upcoming West Side Story reboot


Trayce Field (@traycegigifield)- Known for Dead to Me, AJ and the Queen, 2 Broke Girls, and the upcoming movie, Barb and Star Go to Vista del Mar


Emilio Sosa (@esosafashion)- Afro-Latino Broadway and Fashion Designer, Tony Award Nominee, and Project Runway alumnus


Taylor Moten (@taylormadecostumes)- Costume Designer and FX Artist who also runs a beautifully curated Instagram full of couture and avant-garde fashions


Derica Cole Washington (@dericacolewash)- Known for Twenties, Insatiable, and Boy Genius.


Mercedes Cook (No known Instagram, so here’s her IMDb!)- Known for The Chi.


Shiona Turini (@shionat)- Known for Queen & Slim, Y: The Last Man, and Insecure.


Jennifer L. Bryan (@veryjennystyling)- TV & Film Costume Designer for Breaking Bad, Better Call Saul, Genius: Aretha, and The Society


Ayanna J. Kimani (@ayannajkimani)- Costume Designer for Council of Dads, Queen Sugar, and Insecure.


Sharen Davis (@mochee222)- Known for her work on Dreamgirls, The Help, and Django Unchained.


Kara Saun (@kara_saun)- Costume and Fashion Designer, known for her work on Disney’s The Descendants movies.


Rahimah Yoba (@rahimahyoba)- Costume Designer for Uncorked and Empire.


Michelle Cole (@michellecolecostumedesign)- Costume Designer of Black-ish, Grown-ish, Martin, In Living Color, and more!


Nancy Butts Martin (@nancybmar)- Known for her work on Raven’s Home, That’s So Raven, and The Cheetah Girls 2


Ceci (@ceci_designs)- Costume Designer-Creator of iconic looks from A Different World, Living Single, Sister Sister, Dear White People and most recently Mixedish


Janelle Nicole Carothers (@icurenudity)- Known for All Rise, L.A.’s Finest, and If Not Now, When?


Danielle Hollowell (@daniellehollowell)- Known for Little, Girls Trip, and The Best Man.



Stylists

Jennifer Austin (@jlynnstyle18)- Celebrity stylist whose clients include Angela Bassett, Chante Adams, and Adina Porter


Ade Samuel (@adesamuel)- Clients include Justine Skye, Michael Ealy, and Letitia Wright


Wayman D.B. and Micah McDonald (@waymanandmicah)- Clients include Tessa Thompson, Regina King, and Kelly Marie Tran


Solange Franklin Reed (@solangefranklin)- Clients include Tracee Ellis Ross, Venus Williams, and Michelle Pfeiffer


Jason Rembert (@jasonrembert)- Stylist for Lizzo, Issa Rae, and Michael B. Jordan, among others.


Jason Bolden (@jasonbolden)- Creative Director/Co-Founder of JSN Studio; Stylist to Yara Shahidi, Ava DuVernay, Cynthia Erivo; recurring judge on Netflix's "Next in Fashion"



Fashion Illustrators & Costume Concept Artists


Phil Boutte (@phil_boutte)- Has provided concept art for Black Panther, X-Men, Inception, among others.


George Hilton III (@_georg13)- LA based artist, well known for his Cynthia illustrations


Jocquillin Shaunte (@jocquillinshaunte)- Fashion and beauty illustrator.


Ashley A. Woods (@ninjatrip)- Artist for comics and television


Nicholle Kobi (@nichollekobi)- Afro-French artist based in NY whose goal is to use her art to convey the culture, Afro-heritage, and aesthetic of blacks with no cliche or stereotypes


Sacrée Frangine- Célia Amroune and Aline Kpade (@sacree_frangine)- A creative duo of artistic directors and illustrators inspired by portraits, still lifes, and feminine themes that explore the beauty of simple things and everyday life


Fashion Designers


Olivier Rousteing (@olivier_rousteing)- Creative Director of Balmain


Rihanna (@fenty, @savagexfenty)- with her luxury line, Fenty, Rihanna became the first Black woman to create a brand with LVMH


TJ Walker, Jr. (@tjwalkerofficial)- Professor and Public Speaker, co-founder of streetwear brand Cross Colours


Kevan Hall (@kevanhalldesign)- An American fashion designer from Detroit known for special event gowns as seen on the red carpet.


Angela Dean (@iamangeladean)- Celebrity Fashion Designer to the stars and Creator of Shaped by an Angel shapewear


Maxwell Osborne (@maxwellosborne)- Co-founder of Public School, a NYC-based streetwear brand


Kerby Jean-Raymond (@kerbito)- Founder of Pyer Moss


Black Design Collective (@black_design_collective)- Founded by established designers Angela Dean, Kevan Hall, and TJ Walker, the Black Design Collective is a platform for designers of color to develop, produce and market their products globally as well as create a mentorship program for aspiring designers.



Jewelry Designers Douriean (@douriean)- Adornment artist, specialty jeweler for Marvel's Black Panther; made history as the first Jeweler to join the Motion Picture Costumer Union, Local 705



Bloggers/ Entrepreneurs


Grasie Mercedes (@grasiemercedes)- Afro-Latina Actor, Writer, and Filmmaker


Frederique Harrel (@freddieharrel)- Entrepreneur, Creator of RadSwan conscious beauty brand built with, and for the Global African Diaspora


Ada Rojas (@allthingsada)- Afro-Latina, Owner & Founder of Botanika Beauty


Nichelle Gainer (@vintageblackglamour)- Writer, creator of the Vintage Black Glamour website


Chelsea Olivia (@chelseaolivia13)- Travel & fashion blogger


Keira Wood (@islandsewcialist)- Sewing, DIY, Trashion, Sustainability, Island Living


Melissa’s Wardrobe (@melissaswardrobe)- Celebrity fashion stylist, blogger, interior decorator


Mena Adubea (@mena_adubea)- Ghanaian Beauty and Lifestyle content creator


Dede Signature (@dedemomboss)- Nephrology RN; Fashion & Beauty content creator


Nani Rogers (@melaninmakeup)- Beauty blogger


Karen Blanchard (@karenbritchick)- Fashion and lifestyle blogger, “Inspiring you to own your style”


Tamika Bates (@tymikaashlee)- Travel blogger


Charnaie (@hereweeread)- Helping you find diverse books, educational products and raise curious kids.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2023 by Design for Life.

Proudly created with Wix.com